OFFICERS 2008-2010

REBECCA MARTINEZ PRESIDENT Madera County GAIL PELLERIN VICE PRESIDENT Santa Cruz County CATHY DARLING

TREASURER Shasta County NEAL KELLEY SECRETARY Orange County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County DARLENE BLOOM Orange County FREDERICK GARCIA Sacramento County JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County DEAN LOGAN Los Angeles County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County DOLORES PROVENCIO Imperial County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK Mendocino County JULIE RODEWALD San Luis Obispo County KAY VINSON* City Clerk, Murietta non-voting member ADVISORY COUNCIL: STEVE WEIR Contra Costa County ELECTED: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County BARBARA DUNMORE Southern Area **Riverside County**

JILL LA VINE Mother Lode Area Sacramento County

LEE LUNDRIGAN Central Area Stanislaus County LINDSEY MC WILLIAMS Bay Area

Solano County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LA VINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER San Diego County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

Rebecca Martinez, President Madera County Clerk-Recorder 200 West 4th Street, Madera, CA 93637 (559) 675-7721; FAX (559) 675-7870 E-Mail: <u>rmartinez@madera-county.com</u> Website: <u>www.caceo58.org</u>

March 18, 2009

Assembly Member Sandré Swanson State Capitol P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0016

Dear Assembly Member Swanson:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee has reviewed **AB 1440** (as introduced February 27, 2009), your proposal allowing elections officials to, in the event of a declared emergency, and in the counties included in the executive order declaring the emergency, upon demand, issue to any person who is a public safety worker, emergency services worker, or other person officially engaged in responding to the declared emergency, a provisional ballot containing statewide candidates and propositions in the county in which they are temporarily located.

This proposal could be interpreted to require a new ballot containing statewide offices and propositions. Though a single statewide ballot may be envisioned, candidates for statewide office are rotated by Assembly District, creating multiple versions of the ballot, expanding further in primary elections to meet the needs of political parties. Additional costs for these ballots would initially be passed on to the State through the SB 90 process, however, as counties have experienced for many years, the State has a history of suspending reimbursement or failing to fund mandates, leaving counties to meet the expectations of voters.

The Committee is very understanding of the reasons for this legislation and discussed some alternative proposals which would not necessitate the creation of additional versions of the ballot, including possibility of faxing voters' ballots, as is done with military voters. Election officials can provide very quick turnaround on faxed ballots, which provide the workers with not only the ability to cast a ballot not only on statewide candidates and issues, but on very important local contests as well. Depending on the emergency, fax machines are often available emergency operation and forward command centers.

We would appreciate working with you and your staff to draft language that would meet the needs of voters and election officials alike. Please feel free to contact me at the Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office (707-565-1876) or either Jill Lavine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters (916-875-6060) or Deborah Seiler, San Diego County Registrar of Voters (858-565-5800), CACEO Elections Legislative Committee, Co-chairs.

Very truly yours, man ance (

Janice Atkinson Correspondence Secretary California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Assembly Member Paul Fong, Chair, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Senator Loni Hancock, Chair, Senate Committee on Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates

C:JANICE\CACEO\Leg Comm\09-10 Information\Position Letters\AB 1440.doc Cat. B

Cat. I