OFFICERS 2006-2008

STEVE WEIR PRESIDENT Contra Costa County 524 Main Street Martinez, CA 94553 (925) 646-2955 sweir@cr.cccounty.us

REBECCA MARTINEZ VICE PRESIDENT Madera County

MIKEL HAAS TREASURER San Diego County

GAIL PELLERIN SECRETARY Santa Cruz County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County DARLENE BLOÓM Orange County CATHY DARLING Shasta County CANDACE GRUBBS **Butte County** JOSEPH HOLLAND Santa Barbara County **DEAN LOGAN** Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County DOLORES PROVENCIO Imperial County ELMA ROSAS Santa Clara County **KAY VINSON*** City Clerk, Murrieta * non-voting member ELECTED: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County BARBARA DUNMORE Southern Area **Riverside County** CANDY LOPEZ Bay Area Contra Costa County

LEE LUNDRIGAN Central Area Stanislaus County JIM MCCAULEY Mother Lode Area Placer County

ADVISORY COUNCIL

CONNY MCCORMACK Los Angeles County MARSHA WHARFF Mendocino County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD: SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK: KATHIE MORAN

Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER Solano County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

March 21, 2007

Assembly Members Jared Huffman Mark DeSaulnier and Lori Saldaña State Capitol Sacramento, CA 94249

Dear Assembly Members:

The Elections Legislative Committee of the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) is very interested in **AB 1654** (as introduced February 23, 2007), your proposal to allow any local, special, primary or general election to be conducted by all mail ballot.

We are excited about the prospect of allowing individual counties to conduct elections entirely by mail and agree that vote by mail has increased voter turnout significantly. The Committee has adopted a position of **Support in concept**, and would appreciate the opportunity to work with you and your staff to analyze and clarify the language in the bill to be certain it meets the needs of election officials in administering such elections and does not create conflicting requirements. We have established a subcommittee of election officials from Sonoma, Marin and Santa Barbara counties to assist in this important endeavor and to be available to you to respond to technical or logistical concerns which may be raised in this regard.

Should you have any questions in this regard, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office, (707) 565-1877.

Very truly yours,

Janice Atkinson, Correspondence Secretary Elections Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Senator Ron Calderon, Chair, Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Committee Assembly Member Curren Price, Chair, Committee on Elections and Redistricting Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee