OFFICERS 2006-2008

STEVE WEIR PRESIDENT Contra Costa County 524 Main Street Martinez, CA 94553 (925) 646-2955 sweir@cr.cccounty.us

REBECCA MARTINEZ VICE PRESIDENT Madera County

MIKEL HAAS TREASURER San Diego County

GAIL PELLERIN SECRETARY Santa Cruz County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

JANICE ATKINSON Sonoma County DARLENE BLOÓM Orange County CATHY DARLING Shasta County CANDACE GRUBBS **Butte County** JOSEPH HOĹLAND Santa Barbara County **DEAN LOGAN** Los Angeles County JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County KATHIE MORAN Colusa County DOLORES PROVENCIO Imperial County ELMA ROSAS Santa Clara County KAY VINSON* City Clerk, Murrieta * non-voting member

ELECTED: JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County BARBARA DUNMORE Southern Area Riverside County **CANDY LOPEZ** Bay Area Contra Costa County LEE LUNDRIGAN Central Area Stanislaus County JIM MCCAULEY Mother Lode Area Placer County

ADVISORY COUNCIL

CONNY MCCORMACK Los Angeles County MARSHA WHARFF Mendocino County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES

CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KATHIE MORAN Colusa County VICKI PETERSEN Sonoma County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County DEBORAH SEILER Solano County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

March 21, 2007

Assembly Member Sharon Runner State Capitol, Room 5158 P.O. Box 942849 Sacramento, CA 94249-0036

Dear Assembly Member Runner:

The Elections Legislative Committee of the California Association of Clerks and Election Officials (CACEO) has reviewed **AB 223**, as introduced on January 29, 2007. This bill provides remedies for voters who are called up for military duty without sufficient time to request an absentee ballot during the regular period for doing so.

The Committee recommends that the bill be amended to clarify that it is referring to a county in California to which the service member has been recalled to service.

3110. If a special absentee voter is unable to appear at his or her polling place because of being recalled to service after the final day for making application for an absent voter's ballot, but before 5 p.m. on the day before the day of election, he or she may appear before the elections official in the county in which the special absentee voter is registered or in the California county in which he or she is recalled to service and make application for an absent voter's ballot, which may be submitted by facsimile, or by e-mail or online transmission if the elections official makes the transmission option available. The elections official shall deliver to him or her an absent voter's ballot which may be voted in the elections official's office or voted outside the elections official's office on or before the close of the polls on the day of election and returned as are other absent voter's ballots. To be counted, the ballot must be returned to the office of the elections official in the county in which the special absentee voter is registered, or to the elections official's office from which the ballot was obtained, in person, by facsimile transmission, or by an authorized person on or before the close of the polls on the day of the election. If the special absentee voter appears in the California county in which he or she is recalled to service, rather than the county to in which he or she is registered, the elections official shall coordinate with the elections official in the county in which the special absentee voter is registered to provide the absentee ballot that contains the appropriate measures and races for the precinct in which the special absentee voter is registered.

Should you have any questions in this regard, please do not hesitate to contact me at the Sonoma County Clerk-Recorder-Assessor's Office, (707) 565-1877.

Very truly yours,

Janice Atkinson, Correspondence Secretary Elections Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

c: Senator Ron Calderon, Chair, Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Committee

Assembly Member Curren Price, Chair, Committee on Elections and Redistriction

Assembly Member Curren Price, Chair, Committee on Elections and Redistricting Deborah Seiler, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee

Jill Lavine, Co-Chair, CACEO Elections Legislative Committee